Sunset over lake

Tribal-State Judicial Consortium


Explore Section

State Courts

State Courts derive from Article VI of the New Mexico Constitution, which establishes various levels of State Courts.


​These include the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeals, the District Courts, the Probate Courts, Magistrate Courts, and other courts inferior to the district courts established by law. The Constitution also contains provisions relating to jurisdiction, terms and qualifications for office, compensation, staff, fees, writs, the Judicial Standards Commission, retention or rejection at general elections, vacancies and nominating commissions.

State laws in Chapter 34 (NMSA 1978) provide further details for some of the constitutional provisions. For example, the Bernalillo County Metropolitan Court is created in State law. Similarly, the Administrative Office of the Courts, the Judicial Education Center, and other agencies are created. State law also assigns the 33 counties to thirteen judicial districts for district court’s jurisdictional areas.

More Information